WDL Guide to Audacity

Saving and Exporting

Saving allows you to keep your project and work on it later. Saving in Audacity format allows you to keep your tracks separate and continue making changes. Exporting is the process of creating a file, like an MP3, that someone else can listen to. We recommend saving your file in Audacity format until you’re finished working on the project and then exporting the final product.

Saving

Saving a project in Audacity is similar to saving a document in a word processor. To Save your project as an Audacity file, use the File drop-down menu on the top Menu Bar, and select “Save Project As”. A text-box will appear where you can name your project and choose where you want it to save. Once you have chosen a name and a destination for the project to be stored in, click Save and Audacity will automatically complete the process for you. Note that when you save an Audacity project, Audacity doesn’t just save one file: it saves a folder as well that contains your audio data. If you’re going to transfer your project to a different computer, make sure you take that folder as well.

Exporting

When you’re ready to distribute your project, you can export it. Remember that if you Export a file that you still need to edit, it may be difficult to make changes to the exported file in Audacity; only use Export if you do not plan to edit any further.

If you are ready to export, click the File drop-down menu and then click “Export.” A text-box will appear asking you to name your file, select the file type, and select where you want your exported file will be stored. There are many different kinds of file types for audio files, but be aware that MP3 files are very common and used almost universally. This is probably how people will expect to use your project. Once you’re ready, click Export, and Audacity will automatically complete the process.

After clicking “Export,” you may see the screen below pop up asking for metadata. If you like, you can put your name and title your track so that your name and the name of your project will appear when someone listens to your work. However, this isn’t necessary, and you can leave these fields blank and click “OK.”

metadata